forpublishing.blogg.se

Switch between front and rear audio
Switch between front and rear audio







This in fact turned out to be the hardest part. I also wanted this to duplicate the front channels on the rear (with the option of turning the rear off). This was to allow my Wii to connect into the same box. In addition to the initial premise, I also decided to take a dual phono connector in. Mostly, it's a doddle, if a little fiddly. The final thing to remember is that every single one of the grounds needs to be joined together in one big clump! My grounds were all labelled with insulation tape so i knew which they were. When the switch faces one way, you are getting those 4 points connected, and when it faces the other, the other 4. Also, when looking at the switches, think of them as two sets of 4 points (with the middle 2 being in both set), and that each side of 3 is independent. On a 3.5mm jack, the tip is the left channel, the shaft is the right, so look at the connector and you can work out which point is which. You need to look at this and work out which is which. The only place that this gets particularally difficult is on the 3.5mm socket.

switch between front and rear audio

This would be suitable for connecting two 5.1 surround sound PC cards / PC's to the same subwoofer.īasically, all that happens now is that you solder everything together, fit them into the box and it works! The only thing that is tricky is making sure the wires all match up on the correct channels. So, I was going to build a splitter box which takes two 3 x 3.5mm Inputs and allows you to switch between them to one similar output. I have to say that Joey was masses of help and the following guide wouldn't be possible without him. It's at this point that I decided to contact Joey Hazlett, the owner of the site to get some information and increase my knowledge on building such a device, with a mind to do it myself. It was then that I came across the following article on - 5.1 Audio Switch.

switch between front and rear audio

This didnt work, since the computer's output always took presedence over the monitor's output. My first test was to simply try a headphone splitter in reverse on each individual subwoofer channel. Having carried out much searching on the internet, I was unable to find a box that does this, and while many people seem to have similar problems, very few people have a solution. This would be great, however there is no similar input, meaning that I have the issue that I had to keep swapping the jacks on my subwoofer if I wanted to get any sound from my PC or the Monitor. I had hooked up my Xbox 360 via HDMI to the monitor, and the sound comes out of these (unfortunately only in Stereo since it's in Dolby Digital, but that's another story).

switch between front and rear audio

I've just bought a Dell 2709w Monitor which takes DVI and has 5.1 output using the standard PC solution of three 3.5mm jacks, coloured Green, Orange and Black.









Switch between front and rear audio